SDBA Groups and Categories

The Association is composed of four geographic groups and four size-based categories. Each group and category is represented on the Board of Directors by one elected director. In addition, a director is appointed to represent the maximum dues-paying banks and the industry’s emerging leaders.


Group I: Banks in Bon Homme, Clay, Davison, Hanson, Hutchinson, Jerauld, Lake, Lincoln, McCook, Miner, Minnehaha, Moody, Sanborn, Turner, Union and Yankton counties.

Group II: Banks in Beadle, Brookings, Brown, Clark, Codington, Day, Deuel, Grant, Hamlin, Kingsbury, Marshall, Roberts and Spink counties.

Group III: Banks in Aurora, Bennett, Brule, Buffalo, Charles Mix, Custer, Douglas, Fall River, Gregory, Haakon, Jackson, Jones, Lawrence, Lyman, Meade, Mellette, Oglala Lakota, Pennington, Stanley, Todd and Tripp counties.

Group IV: Banks in Butte, Campbell, Corson, Dewey, Edmunds, Faulk, Hand, Harding, Hughes, Hyde, McPherson, Perkins, Potter, Sully, Walworth and Ziebach counties.


Large Community and Regional Banks: Banks with deposits of more than $750 million.

Midsize Community Banks: Banks with deposits between $200 million and $750 million.

Community Banks: Banks with deposits between $75 million and $200 million.

Small Community Banks: Banks with deposits of less than $75 million.

Maximum Dues-Payer Seat

A chair-appointed seat is shared by banks which, by operation of the SDBA's deposit-based dues formula, reach the maximum allowable dues payable to the SDBA.

Emerging Leaders Seat

The past chair of the SDBA Emerging Leaders Work Group is appointment to a one-year term on the SDBA Board of Directors.

The SDBA Board of Directors approved changes to the groups and categories effective Feb. 12, 2020. See the SDBA bylaws.