Committees & Work Groups

The SDBA's standing committees and work groups assist in directing Association activities in various areas of banking and legislation. Volunteer committee members contribute to a stronger banking industry by sharing their time and talents. View standing committee members.

The SDBA is currently seeking bankers to serve on four standing committees and two work groups for 2020-2021: Agricultural Credit, Credit Card, Legislative and Trust committees and Education and Technology work groups. The deadline to request appointment to a committee or work group is April 30, 2020. SDBA Standing Committee/Work Group Request Form

  • Agricultural Credit Committee: Provides timely information to SDBA agricultural lenders; keeps them abreast of developments, regulations and legislation in agricultural lending. In addition, continues to support, promote and encourage a strong economy in South Dakota.
  • Credit Card Committee: Represents the credit card industry in South Dakota.
  • Legislative Committee: Represent the interests of the banking industry in South Dakota. The committee sponsors legislation and also reviews existing law and proposed legislation that may be detrimental to the industry.
  • Trust Committee: Keeps its members abreast of any legislative changes in South Dakota as well as proposes legislation necessary to assure an efficient and effective fiduciary responsibility to its clients and member banks.
  • Education Work Group: Collaborates with SDBA staff in determining educational platform, offerings and methodologies.
  • Technology Work Group: Assists in planning and implementing the annual Bank Technology Conference including event format, speaker identification, promotions, etc.

Committee terms are one year beginning May 1 and ending April 30, except for the Legislative Committee which is a three-year term. Legislative committee members can serve two, consecutive three-year terms. Committees generally meet one to two times a year to initiate activities and to recommend policy.

Questions, contact Alisa Bousa at 605.224.1653 or [email protected].